OK dads - this is for guys who have boyz.
First thing's first: My goal is to have a great kid, despite the odds out there that he'll end up completely effed up.
Second: I'm 37 and this is my first try. It's taking a little getting used to. No lies.
Third: My kid is 15 today. 15 days old. This new world is really weird to him. Especially the farting part.
Fourth: I'm up at 2:35 am, writing this blog for a reason. And that reason will probably have me writing at this time fairly regularly, so don't mind the spelling errors.
Fifth: That reason is sleeping right behind me on a mattress I threw on the floor. After having a terrible 'sleep' last night, I read the whole Baby Wise book this morning and read a lot of stuff online to figure out what the hell went wrong. The first 2 weeks were a relative breeze, and then all of the sudden shrieks from hell that never stopped. I decided I would figure it out, I would test the theories of these books and online articles, and I would figure out if any of it was true dammit, and after 55 minutes, I got my kid to sleep. I think I found the secret. And I think I know what we've been doing wrong- and right. And I'm willing to share it with you.
Sixth: The room I'm in is dark, and I have a headlamp on. I strongly suggest you invest in one. I got mine at REI. It's sweet. PETZL. Learn it. Live it. Love it.
That's all you need know about me right now. The rest is all about this kid I'm about to raise. It's been 15 days like I said, and I swear he's aged already. He's grown about 4 inches and added 20% to his body weight in two week! He looks like a young man in a little monkey body. He's given new purpose to my life and he's taking away time I thought I would miss. And do I.
I'm going back to sleep now. There's more to this story. If not for you, then for him. By the time he's old enough to know what a blog WAS, he'll probably have a chip in his head that enables him to speak any language- so I ask myself- what the hell did I buy these children's language CDs for? They're awesome, and my kid is going to speak 10 languages the old fashioned way- he's going to learn them. No dang chip needed.
Well, time for this dad to get some shut-eye. My tomorrow is already wasted.
Thursday, April 22, 2010
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)